Behind the Music...

Thrift Store Halo (“TSH”) is an American Indie Power Pop band hailing from Chicago, Illinois. Despite having formed back in mid-1990s, TSH now returns after a near-20-year layoff with a new, six-song EP, “POP-ROCKET” which sounds remarkably fresh; like a new band hell-bent on putting the "POWER" back in "Power-Pop", consistent with their Midwestern Power Pop roots. Original members, Frank Gradishar (Lead Vocals, Bass Guitar & Songwriting) and Scott Proce (Drums and Backing Vocals) were joined on "POP-ROCKET" by guitarist/songwriter Lance Tee (a veteran Chicago musician who had previously served time in the original lineup of Material Issue (featured on the seminal International Pop Overthrow album) and The Lupins (featured on the Dumb and Dumber Soundtrack).

Richard Rossi of POWER POP NEWS reviewed the new "POP-ROCKET" EP and said: "Catchy tunes that fit well within the classic power pop template used by bands such as Cheap Trick, Fountains of Wayne and early Tom Petty. “I’m Not Through” is first rate guitar pop with it’s shout aloud chorus and memorable melody. It’s easy to like the bouncy “Let’s Not Wait” and “Save Me From Myself” has the catchy chorus and crunchy guitars that place it head and shoulders above the others. While it’s only one of several quite enjoyable songs on Pop Rocket, it’s the standout single for me."

"POP-ROCKET" officially launched on 8.15.17 and is released on the band’s own Hi-Beam Records label, in association with Pravda Records (distribution)/Music Publishing (licensing/placement) in Chicago, with additional distribution by Kool Kat Musik. Several songs are already in rotation on several outlets in the US and UK, having been featured regularly on Woodyradio ("Secret Weapon" in Canada), KOR Radio (UK), Belter Radio (UK), SHMU 99.8 FM (Scotland), 88.7 FM ("Razor & Die Show", in Chicago), “Simon’s Big New Thursday Thing” (6 Towns Radio, UK), The Music Authority (US), Radio Candy Hits Radio (US), Pop That Goes Crunch (US), WBOM (Rockford, IL), Chasing The Essential (US) and The Power Pop Show! "I'm Not Through" has made Radio Indie Alliance Top 10 in US and UK and Top 40 Overall. "I'm Not Through" was also featured on Ice Cream Man Power Pop & More's "Rocking Road" Compilation (released 7.28.17) and "Save Me From Myself" prominently kicked off Ice Cream Man Power Pop & More's 200th Show on 7.25.17. A podcast showcase of the band was broadcast on Rick's Records Podcast on 8.17.17. Favorable reviews are in from Power Pop News and and an in-depth interview has been featured in the Startip Webzine (Japan). The band's debut album, "World Gone Mad", was released in 1998, with original guitarist, Brent Seatter, and had several tracks featured on multiple TV shows including, "Party of Five", "Smallville" and various MTV programs, including "Undressed" and "Making the Video: R.E.M.") has amassed over 50,000 plays on Spotify.